Mohair and Alpaca Scarf

Last Memorial Day weekend some friends and I took a trip up to Missoula for an antique fair/craft show. Being the fiber lovers that we are, checked out one of the yarn shops there – Beads, Yarns, and Threads. Since we were short on time, we could only hit the one, but it was rather satisfying all by itself. I picked up some Berroco yarn, Worsted weight, I think the colorway was called Jungle something, a couple skeins of a thread weight multicolored mohair blend, and thread weight tan alpaca. The owner had a scarf on display to showcase both yarns knit together in a two stranded mesh scarf, and I absolutely loved it. My knitting skills at the time were not up to the task. A few inches into making my own version of the scarf, and I frogged it and put it away – I couldn’t stand the mohair sticking and making sure the two strands were both in my needles drove me nuts. A couple weeks ago I decided to give it another go. Though I couldn’t find the pattern the shop owner had given me, I did find a good substitute after some experimentation and failure and more frogging – Simple Lace Scarf.

Leave a Reply

